IEEE.orgIEEE Xplore Digital Library IEEE Standards IEEE SpectrumMore Sites
Vincent Poor - VTC2022-Fall - London/Beijing

Vincent Poor

Michael Henry Strater University Professor

Title: Federated Learning in VTX Networks

Abstract:  The fifth generation and the emerging sixth generation of cellular networks aim to support vehicular networks, including communication among vehicles, pedestrians and road infrastructures, i.e., vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications. These networks face difficult wireless propagation conditions due to rapidly varying channels, and must support low latency and high reliability, with vehicles forming dynamic topologies. However, with the help of such networks, vehicular applications can apply distributed machine learning techniques to enable assisted and self-driving systems.  Federated learning (FL) is a collaborative distributed machine learning paradigm that is well-suited to this application. This talk will introduce the fundamentals of FL over wireless networks and discuss applications of FL in V2X communications, highlighting challenges, solutions, and open problems arising from the integration of these two technologies.

Bio: H. Vincent Poor is the Michael Henry Strater University Professor at Princeton University, where he has been on the faculty since 1990. He has also been a Visiting Professor at Imperial College since 2004, and he has held visiting appointments at several other universities as well, including most recently at Berkeley and Cambridge. His research interests are in the areas of information theory, machine learning and signal processing, and their applications in wireless networks, energy systems and related fields. Among his publications in these areas is the recent book Machine Learning and Wireless Communications (Cambridge University Press, 2022). An IEEE Fellow, Dr. Poor is also a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and he is a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Royal Society, and other national and international academies. He received the IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal in 2017 and the IEEE VTS Hall of Fame Award in 2021. He has served as an IEEE VTS Distinguished Lecturer since 2018.