IEEE.orgIEEE Xplore Digital Library IEEE Standards IEEE SpectrumMore Sites
T7: Localization-of-Things: from Foundation to B5G Ecosystem - VTC2022-Fall - London/Beijing

T7: Localization-of-Things: from Foundation to B5G Ecosystem

Co-organizer: Moe Z. Win, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Co-organizer: Andrea Conti, University of Ferrara, Italy

Abstract: The availability of realtime highaccuracy location awareness is essential for
current and future wireless applications, particularly those involving InternetofThings
and beyond 5G ecosystem. Reliable localization and navigation of people, objects, and
vehicles LocalizationofThings is a critical component for a diverse set of applications
including connected communities, smart environments, vehicle autonomy, asset tracking,
medical services, military systems, and crowd sensing. The coming years will see the
emergence of network localization and navigation in challenging environments with sub
meter accuracy and minimal infrastructure requirements.

We will discuss the limitations of traditional positioning, and move on to the key enablers
for highaccuracy location awareness: wideband transmission and cooperative processing.
Topics covered will include: fundamental bounds, cooperative algorithms for 5G and B5G
standardized scenarios, and network experimentation. Fundamental bounds serve as
performance benchmarks, and as a tool for network design. Cooperative algorithms are a
way to achieve dramatic performance improvements compared to traditional non
cooperative positioning. To harness these benefits, system designers must consider realistic
operational settings; thus, we present the performance of cooperative localization based on
measurement campaigns.


Co-organizer’s bios:

Moe Win

Bio: Moe Win is a Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Prior to joining MIT, he was at AT&T Research Laboratories for five years and at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory for seven years. His research encompasses fundamental theories, algorithm design, and network experimentation for a broad range of realworld problems. His current research topics include network localization and navigation, network interference exploitation, and quantum information science. Professor Win has served the IEEE Communications Society as an elected MemberatLarge on the Board of Governors, as elected Chair of the Radio Communications Committee, and as an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer. Over the last two decades, he held various Editorial posts for IEEE journals and organized numerous international conferences. Currently, he is serving on the SIAM Diversity Advisory Committee. He was honored with two IEEE Technical Field Awards: the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award and the IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award. Other recognitions include the IEEE Communications Society Edwin H. Armstrong Achievement Award, the Cristoforo Colombo International Prize for Communications, the Copernicus Fellowship and the Laurea Honoris Causa from the University of Ferrara, and the U.S. Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. Professor Win is elected Fellow of the AAAS, the EURASIP, the IEEE, and the IET. He is an ISI Highly Cited Researcher.


Andrea Conti

Bio: Andrea Conti is a Professor at the University of Ferrara and Research Affiliate at the MIT Wireless Information and Network Sciences Laboratory. His research interests involve theory and experimentation of wireless systems and networks including network localization and distributed sensing. He received the HTE Puskás Tivadar Medal, the IEEE Communications Society’s Stephen O. Rice Prize in the field of Communications Theory, and the IEEE Communications Society’s Fred W. Ellersick Prize. Dr. Conti has served as editor for IEEE journals, as well as chaired international conferences. He has been elected Chair of the IEEE Communications Society’s Radio Communications Technical Committee. He is a cofounder and elected Secretary of the IEEE Quantum Communications & Information Technology Emerging Technical Subcommittee. Professor Conti is an elected Fellow of the IEEE and of the IET, and he has been selected as an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer.