IEEE.orgIEEE Xplore Digital Library IEEE Standards IEEE SpectrumMore Sites
W20: Third Annual Workshop on Diversity and Inclusion - VTC2022-Spring

W20: Third Annual Workshop on Diversity and Inclusion

Co-chair: Carmela Cozzo, Samsung, USA
Co-chair: Sarah Kate Wilson, Santa Clara University, USA

Abstract: The workshop will have a panel and speakers on the topic of diversity in wireless communications engineering. This workshop will build on the previous two VTC diversity workshops. In addition to the panel and speakers, we will have a breakout session with active participation of the audience.

Co-chair Bios:

Carmela Cozzo

Bio: Carmela Cozzo is a Principal Engineer and Standards Expert at Samsung. She has over 20 years of experience in research and standardization of wireless communications systems in leading telecommunications companies. She has been actively contributing to the 3GPP standardization of 5G/4G/3G systems as RAN1 and RAN delegate and rapporteur representing Samsung and earlier Futurewei. She was with Ericsson Research where she focused on algorithm design of advanced receivers for HSPA systems. She holds a Ph.D. in EE from North Carolina State University, and a Laurea degree in EE from the University of Rome, Italy.

She is a Senior Member of IEEE, served as editor of the IEEE Transaction on Vehicular Technologies and as reviewer of major IEEE journals and conferences. She is the IEEE VTS Liaison to Women in Engineering Committee, and Chair of the IEEE VTS Committee on Women in VTS and Diversity. She holds several patents, has authored several IEEE papers and contributed to workshops/panels in wireless communications.

Sara Kate Wilson

Bio: Sarah Kate Wilson earned her A.B. in Mathemathics from Bryn Mawr College and her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. She has worked in both academia and industry and is currently a Professor of Electrical Engineering at Santa Clara University. Her research area includes wireless radio frequency communications, visible light communications and underwater acoustic communications.

She served as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Communications Letters from 2009-2011, and has been an associate editor for IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, IEEE Communications Letters, IEEE Transactions on Communications and the Journal of Communications and Networks. She was the IEEE Communications Society Director of Journals for the term 2012-2013, overseeing four society journals and their Editors-in-Chief. She was the elected Vice President for Publications for the IEEE Communications Society for the term 2014-2015, overseeing all journals, magazines and online content. She has received the IEEE Education Society Harriett Rigas Award, the IEEE Women in Communications Engineering Service Award, the IEEE Communications Society Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications and is a Fellow of the IEEE for “contributions to Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing.” She was the co-general chair (with Andrea Goldsmith) of the IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference (WCNC) in 2017 in San Francisco which was awarded the IEEE iCon award for the best IEEE Conference of 2017.

 There will be no papers accepted to this workshop!